Helping Companions

Oh no, something went wrong. Please check your network connection and try again.

Available for engaging conversation​,​ walks​,​ household tasks

Empathetic, caring, and driven by a genuine desire to serve, I pride myself on my ability to connect with others and make a difference, no matter how big or small. I am seasoned hospitality professional with 30+ years in the hotel sector; losing job to COVID provided me with the opportunity to launch my own business Leave it to Rita, home & lifestyle concierge where I assist and support busy professionals, families and seniors in and around the home. Tasks include and not limited to light housekeeping, meal prep, organizing, admin, errands, senior companionship and much more. Family comes first, I was was very close with my Grandparents and love spending time with my 5 year old nephew. Born and raised in Northwestern Ontario, Ottawa has been my home for many years and I love living by the canal. I enjoy engaging conversations, finding new cafes to enjoy a tea & scone, hikes, movies and summer at the cottage


  • Are You Comfortable With PetsDepends
  • Minimum Time Per Visit 2 Hours
  • Smoking?Prefer To Not Be Around Smoking
  • How Would You Rate Your Physical Endurance?Enjoy Short Walks
  • Vulnerable Sector Police CheckYes, I Have One Ready To Submit

Type of Companionship

  • Teaching New Skills
  • Enriching Activities
  • Helpful Tasks
  • Home Visits
  • Virtual Companion
  • Phone Check-Ins
  • Physical Activities

Language Preference


What Kind Of Activities, Hobbies Or Interests Do You Enjoy

Engaging conversation. Walks on the canal. Crossword puzzles. Movies. Trivia. Finding new cafes to enjoy a cup of tea and a scone. Making chocolate dipped treats. Seinfeld fan

Are There Specific Skills Or Knowledge You'd Like To Share?

27 year experience in hospitality

What Is Your Preferred Time For Visit?

  • Morning
  • Afternoon
  • Evening

What Areas Of The City Can Your Provide Companionship?

The Glebe, Ottawa

Any Health Concerns That Could Limit Your Ability To Perform Certain Types Of Assistance

Making chocolate dipped treats. Organizing, decluttering.

What Light Tasks Are You Available To Help With? (dog walking, shopping etc)

  • Meal Preparation / Cooking
  • Shopping
  • Running Errands
  • Walks / Light Exercise
  • Pet Care / Walking
  • Technology Assistance
  • House Cleaning
  • Laundry
  • Bed Care
  • Hair Care
  • Foot Care
  • Nail Care
  • Yard Work
  • Home Repairs
  • Crafting / Art
  • Short Trips
  • Cognitive Exercises
  • Additional Tasks (noted below)

Task Offering Description (if required)

Companionship & conversation Reading books, newspaper, playing games​/​cards Accompany on walks ​/​ social outings Escort to​/​from appointments (bus, Uber, walk) Wellness calls Online shopping Shopping (grocery, personal etc.) Errands (pick up prescriptions etc.) Light housekeeping Fold and put away laundry Water plants Home organization and project assistance Assistance with correspondence Assist with paying bills Setting up appointments​/​reminders Medication reminders Basic computer and technology assistance


Reviews (0)

    per hour of companionship